Engineering Nebraska, Summer07
Subscribe to Engineering @ Nebraska Online

end graphic
front and center

Student Kudos

Five engineering students were inducted into the Black Masque Chapter of Mortar Board: Robert Corn of Omaha, biological systems engineering; Carissa Gengenbach of Blair, chemical engineering; Brant Hubbard of York, biological systems engineering and biochemistry; Megan Krause of Omaha, biological systems engineering; and Laura Podany of Clarkson, biological systems engineering. Mortar Board members are selected on the basis of outstanding scholarship, leadership and service to the university and community.

Katie Vlock, civil engineering, received the Al and Dorothy Schewe Leadership Award, given to a student who demonstrates outstanding leadership and involvement in the college and the university.

Winners of the 2007 O.J. Ferguson Outstanding Leadership awards, given to students who demonstrate outstanding leadership in the college, are Brent Hansen, sophomore, biological systems engineering; Andrew Schroll, junior, mechanical engineering; and Erica Levorson, senior, biological systems engineering.

The Sigma Tau Chapter of Tau Beta Phi, the engineering honor society, has awarded scholarships to Hong Wei Tan, mechanical engineering; Megan Krause, biological systems engineering; Robert Mumgaard, mechanical engineering; Issar Yazhbin, biological systems engineering; and Jeffrey Hoover, electrical engineering.

The Departmental Outstanding Senior Awards are given annually to recognize students who have been outstanding in academics, research, student involvement and volunteer service. The 2007 recipients are: Agricultural Engineering—Bart Coffman; Architectural Engineering—Clayton Miller; Biological Systems Engineering—Nicholas Tomsen; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering—Mitchell Mundt; Civil Engineering—Josh Mellinger and Christie Hasenkamp; Computer Engineering—Brandon Smith; Computer and Electronics Engineering—Luke Christiansen; Construction Management—Jason Villalobos; Construction Systems—Nicholas Haynes; Electrical Engineering—Craig Zuhlke; Industrial and Management Systems Engineering—Lauren Tietgen; and Mechanical Engineering—Shane Unick.

Jenna Rihanek, civil engineering and architecture, won the James S. Blackman Scholarship for Excellence in Engineering worth $5,000.

Malinda Lammers, electrical engineering, won the Girl Scouts Presidential Leadership Award from the Homestead Council of southeast Nebraska. The award is given to someone who exhibits outstanding leadership skills. A Lincoln native, Lammers was a Girl Scout for 13 years. She is president of the Society of Women Engineers, was treasurer of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, was chairwoman of Women Interested in Engineering Day in 2006, and was a member of the Engineering Learning Community.

Jason Lowe was elected as the 2007-08 College of Engineering senator in the Association of Students of the University of Nebraska. Lowe is a senior in mechanical engineering.

Benjamin Polly, engineering mechanics, as well as Chad Kamler and David Miller, engineering, received J.A. Woollam Graduate Fellowships worth $4,000 each. The program is funded by an endowment provided by John A. Woollam, the George Holmes Professor of Electrical Engineering.

The Office of Graduate Programs has awarded the following fellowships: Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation ($1,000)—Walter D. Leon and Jiangyang Huang; Outstanding Master’s Thesis ($500)—Eric T. Psota, Otto E. Villatoro and Kimberly Ryland; Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award ($1,000)—Kun Hua, Jeff Berg and Roberto Soares; and Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award ($500)—Aaron Ankeny, Mary Rose Naughtin and Isaac Mortensen. The recipients were honored at a reception May 4.

Amy Lehman received a National Science Foundation graduate research fellowship to assist Associate Professor Shane Farritor in developing miniature robots for minimally invasive surgery. NSF annually awards 1,000 of these fellowships, which provide three years of support for graduate study toward a research-based master’s or doctoral degree. Lehman earned a B.S. in mechanical engineering from UNL and is pursuing an M.S. in mechanical engineering. She plans to complete a doctoral degree in biomedical engineering at UNL.

Shaun Nienhueser won the 2007 Architectural Engineering Alumni Award for Undergraduate Achievement. The honor is given to an outstanding senior and is based on student involvement, academic achievement and professional development. Nienhueser graduated in May and will pursue his master’s in architectural engineering at UNL.

Alicia Wagner, a graduate student in architectural engineering, received the 2007-08 Graduate Fellowship for Minorities from the Acoustical Society of America. Wagner will receive a $15,000 stipend and a $1,000 travel award to attend a national ASA conference. Her adviser is Associate Professor Lily Wang.

These 24 students have received Milton E. Mohr scholarships ($1,000 each): David J. Bennier, civil engineering; Ryan C. Carlson, electrical engineering; Jesse Deffenbaugh, construction management; Jason P. Eden, industrial and management systems engineering; Emily A. Guthrie, chemical engineering; Brant Hubbard, biochemistry; Brian D. Irish, electrical engineering; Grant A. Jacobson, chemical engineering; Wendy Keeler, mechanical engineering; Shannon M. Killion, biological systems engineering; Bahar Laderian, electrical engineering; Erica Levorson, biological systems engineering; Andrew Lingenfelter, mechanical engineering; Sarah A. Manning, industrial and management systems engineering; Michaela McBride, biological systems engineering; Chiev V. Nuyen, chemical engineering; Tim L. Ockinga, construction management; Eric J. Ohnoutka, chemical engineering; Lee K. Redden, mechanical engineering; Jenna Rihanek, civil engineering and architecture; MinJeong Schneider, chemical engineering; Justine Smith, industrial and management systems engineering; John B. Tooker, computer engineering; and Luke Wilson, computer engineering.

Four incoming students also have received engineering scholarships: Louis J. Kash Scholarship ($1,000)—Erick Ryan Schmidt, Lexington High School; Lester V. and Helen R. Jones Scholars ($5,000)—Ian Barger, Adam Thorne and Anthony Vincente, all of Lincoln Northeast High School.

The Education Committee of the American Society for Precision Engineering has selected the paper “Stability of Nanofeatures Electromachined by the Atomic Force Microscopy” co-authored by doctoral student Abdallah H. Alkhaleel, Professor Kamlakar P. Rajurkar, post-doctoral research assistant Murali M. Sundaram and Ajay P. Malshe of the University of Arkansas for the R.V. Joes Memorial Scholarship Award.

Adam Eck, a senior from Henderson, received the Outstanding Undergrad Research Award from the Department of Computer Science and Engineering.

Eight UNL students received fellowships worth $4,500 each from the Funds for Post-Secondary Education program to study at Brazil’s Universidade Federal do Ceara for six months. They returned to Nebraska in July. The recipients were Evan Schweitz, architecture and communication studies; Daniel Hilgendorf, architectural engineering; Anna Furby, biological systems engineering; Antonio Contreras, computer engineering; Craig Dietz and Elizabeth Norris, industrial engineering; Matthew Peters, math education; and Nick Waszak, mechanical engineering.