Nebraska Engineering Fall, 2006
Main Menu
From the Dean
Front and  Center
After Hours
Send Us News
Back Next

Engineering Students Win MCAA National Championship

MCAA Championship TeamThe MCAA National Championship team: Mark Hofschulte, Ben Johnson, Brandon Limoges, Pat Rainbolt, Anne Arant, John Tinius, Brad Claussen and Bill Jansen.


The University of Nebraska–Lincoln chapter for Mechanical/Electrical Specialty Contracting earned first place in a national student competition hosted by the Mechanical Contractors Association of America.

The competition required each team to recommend a plan and calculate the cost of renovating the heating, ventilation and air conditioning system of the National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C. The team had to present its recommendations to a panel of judges.

The group received a bid to compete at the national championships in Maui, Hawaii, in March after placing in the Final Four in a December 2005 competition. The other Final Four teams were Purdue University, California Polytechnic State University and the Milwaukee School of Engineering. Blake Wentz, a 2004 UNL graduate, coached the Milwaukee team to second place, its highest finish.

Members of the UNL team are Anne Arant, Brad Claussen, Ben Johnson and John Tinius of Lincoln, Mark Hofschulte of Omaha, Bill Jansen of Fordyce, Brandon Limoges of Naples, Fla., and Pat Rainbolt of Papillion.

Mostafa Khattab, who taught construction management at UNL from 1986 to 2002, received the MCAA Educator of the Year Award. He is a professor at Colorado State University.

“All in all, it was quite a special moment on many levels,” said Tim Wentz, chair of construction management.