University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of EngineeringSpring/Summer 2013
UNL Engineering header graphic
graphic Archives / Subscribe / PDF download
next page buttonback page buttonEngineering@Nebraska > Accomplishments
  Front & Center header graphic  


logos unl_logos

Steve Parkison, a junior electrical engineering major, was chosen to receive a Goldwater Scholarship. Each year, about 300 college sophomores and juniors--aspiring scientists, mathematicians and engineers--receive this honor nationwide, with awards up to $7,500 a year for educational expenses. Parkison has worked with UNL's Lance Perez, professor of electrical engineering and associate vice chancellor for academic affairs, for two years in the Mobile Communication and Coding Lab. Parkison is also vice-president of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers student chapter. In addition, he participated in an engineering study abroad trip to Italy led by Ece Erdogmus, associate professor of architectural engineering, and interned at Johnson Space Center working on systems for crewed space crafts. Parkison hopes to earn a doctorate and conduct researc in robotic perception and computer vision in academia or private industry.

COE faculty recognized at UNL Promotion & Tenure ceremonies in April were: Florin Bobaru and Linxia Gu (MME); Mehmet Can Vuran (CSE); Ron Faller and Ayse Kilic (CIVE); Jim Goedert, Lily Wang, Zhigang Shen and Terri Norton (Durham School); Angie Pannier (BSE); Wei Qiao and Eva Franke Schubert (EE); and Yaoqing “Lamar” Yang (CEEN).

Tim Kinoshita, BSE graduate student, was one of four UNL students to receive a 2013 William N. Wasson Student Leadership and Academic Award from the National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association. Awarded to just 36 college students nationwide each year, the honor recognizes outstanding active participants, employees or volunteers in collegiate recreational sports departments. The award’s criteria include self-improvement through leadership, academic success, activities, volunteerism and promoting inclusion. UNL is the only higher education institution in the nation to have at least one Wasson Award winner each year since the award’s inception in 1993 and leads the nation with 63 total recipients.

UNL Distinguished Teaching Awards this year included BSE Professor Curt Weller and Associate Professor and Interim Chair Roger Sash (CEEN).

Tom Frederick, MME graduate student, is part of Elegant Instruments, the team that won first place at the graduate level in UNL's New Venture Competition in March. Elegant Instruments is a specialized brush system developed to address problems using art brushes on pathology samples. Iterations of the tool have been developed and tested at the University of Nebraska Medical Center.

UNL named professorships announced in 2013 included Hong Jiang, Willa Cather Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, and Myra Cohen, named Susan J. Rosowski Associate Professor of Computer Science & Engineering.

At the annual Architectural Engineering Institute conference, Durham School architectural engineering student Kate Fickle was elected secretary of the national AEI student organization. Ece Erdogmus, associate professor of architectural engineering, won a Best Paper award.


Carl Nelson, associate professor of Mechanical & Materials Engineering, was part of the team that developed a rehab device that won a 2013 da Vinci Award. The Intelligently Controlled Assistive Rehabilitation Elliptical Training System, or ICARE, helps patients with disabling conditions learn to walk again.

Curling photoEmil Hubl

Emily Hubl, a junior majoring in Biological Systems Engineering, was awarded the Jack Miller Scholarship. A member of the Scarlet Guard Board of Directors, she has also been active in the Professional Society of Engineers, Engineers without Borders and the CASNR Leadership Council. She studied engineering in Italy in 2011 and was a member of the NASA Microgravity University Team from 2011-12. Hubl is a student researcher at the USDA ARS Durso Laboratory and a fellowship intern at the Nebraska Center for Materials and Nanoscience.

John Woollam, George Holmes Distinguished Professor at UNL, was honored with the APS 2013 Prize for Industrial Applications of Physics. He also leads the J.A. Woollam Company of Lincoln, which specializes in producing spectroscopic ellipsometers for research and industry. In addition, Woollam has funded a series of graduate fellowships at UNL.

Lowell E. and Betty Anderson Distinguished Professor Ravi Saraf’s chemical engineering research was highlighted in the journal Nature. He has developed a single electron transistor to measure the performance of biofuel producing organisms or test the effects of drugs on individual cells.

Walter Bircher (MME), John Bader (BSE) and Emily Miller (IMSE) were among 13 UNL students inducted this spring into the Innocents Society, an honorary group with selection based on leadership, scholarship and service to the university and greater community.

Yongfeng Lu, Lott Distinguished Professor, and his Laser-Assisted Nano Engineering (LANE) lab team with the Department of Electrical Engineering have discovered how to grow large-area high quality graphene outside the conventional process. Published earlier this year in Advanced Materials (impact factor 13.77) and commented by the reviewers as a "breakthrough in graphene research,” this method makes graphene growth much more efficient and cost-effective.

Annual UNL Parents Association honors, based on nominations from UNL students and parents, were awarded in February to Associate Professor Tim Wentz (Durham School), Associate Professor Wieslaw Szydlowski (MME), Professor Michael Hoffman and lecturer Dave Russell (EE), and Professor Roger Hoy and Assistant Professor Deepak Keshwani (BSE).


link to Nebraska Engineering site Link to UNLs site twitter feed facebook link for Nebraska Engineering hot link: