University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of EngineeringOnline: Autumn 2012
UNL Engineering header graphic
graphic Archives / Subscribe / PDF download
next page buttonback page buttonEngineering@Nebraska > Accomplishments 2
  Front & Center header graphic  


logos unl_logos

wang picThe Durham School's Lily Wang received two awards at the 2012 American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) conference in San Antonio. Wang, associate professor of Architectural Engineering, took home the ASHRAE Distinguished Service Award and the ASHRAE Ralph G. Nevins Physiology and Human Environment Award. The Distinguished Service Award recognizes society members who add their time and talent to the organization. The Ralph G. Nevins Award is given to a researcher under the age of 40 for significant accomplishments in the study of bioenvironmental engineering and its effect on human comfort and health.

Architectural Engineering students Adam Buck, John May, Jami Harper, Patrick MacBride, and Alaina Williams won first place in the national 2012 ASHRAE Student Design Competition, HVAC System Selection. The team was coached by Nebraska Engineering alumnus Joe Hazel with Farris Engineering.

Yongfeng Lu, professor of Electrical Engineering, was elected president of the Laser Institute of America for 2013.

Wei Xiong, a graduate student in Electrical Engineering, earned second place for his research paper in the 14th Annual ICALEOR Best Student Paper Award Contest this year. His topic, "Three-Dimensional Micro/Nano-Fabrication by Integration of Additive and Subtractive Femtosecond-Laser Direct Writing Processes," was developed in work with UNL’s Laser-Assisted Nano Engineering (LANE) Lab, led by Professor Yongfeng Lu.

Construction Management student Gretchen Gould was an intern for Kingery Construction in Lincoln during the summer of 2012.

Mechanical & Materials Engineering Professor Mehrdad Negahban is the author of a textbook, The Mechanical and Thermodynamical Theory of Plasticity, published in April 2012 by CRC Press.

Professors Ezekiel Bahar and Delmar Timm were recognized by UNL—each with 45 years of service, to Electrical Engineering and Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, respectively. For more 2012 UNL employee milestones, see

Students Paul Kubitschek (Computer Engineering) and Mirzo Mirzokarimov (Electrical Engineering) lead UNL’s American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) rocketry team in work for Rock-Sat-C, a months-long payload design competition. Last June the team participated in RockOn, a workshop at NASA’s Wallops Flight Facility.

CSE Professor Sebastian Elbaum received $449,033 from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for his project "Solving the Search for Relevant Code in Large Repositories with Lightweights Specifications."

In Biological Systems Engineering student Emily Hubl’s USDA Agroecosystem Management Research Unit position, she continues her summer work in areas of environmental, food and biomedicine with a specific focus on pathogens.

UNL chemical engineers active at national AIChE conference

A dozen Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering faculty and students represented the university at the American Institute of Chemical Engineers’ national conference, held in Pittsburgh in October. UNL earned several honors there:

• Senior Travis Jackson received one of the AIChE Donald F. and Mildred Topp Othmer National Scholarship Awards for the 2012-13 academic year.

• UNL’s Chem-E car finished “in the middle of the pack” at the national event. Each car, the size of a coffeemaker, must be assembled on-site and travel for 50-100 feet while carrying a 50-100 mL payload of water, with power supplied by designated chemical reactions.

Lunabotics pic

• Graduate student Hunter Flodman earned the AIChE Separations Division Graduate Student Research Award.

• Assistant Professor Sri Kidambi chaired a Biomaterials session and two of his research group members—Amita Daverey (postdoc) and Allison Drain (undergraduate/UCARE)—gave presentations with him on Patterned Co-Culture of Breast Cancer Cells and Stromal Cells As an in Vitro Breast Cancer Model and on Topography Mediated Regulation of HER-2 Expression in Breast Cancer Cells. UNL Biological Systems Engineering Assistant

• BSE Assistant Professor Angela Pannier chaired a Gene Delivery session, and BSE grad students Tim Martin and Tadas Kasputis also gave oral presentations at the AIChE event.

UNL Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering was named an Outstanding Student Chapter for 2012 by national AIChE.


MME Professor Ram Bishu was named an ASQ Fellow, based on his “ongoing training of quality management professionals on topics including statistical process control, Six Sigma, process reengineering through design of experiments, and configuration of quality in information systems” and his “experience in product and process evaluation and use of sophisticated statistical techniques (that) provide invaluable knowledge to a generation of quality advocates.”

Myra Cohen, associate professor of Computer Science & Engineering, received a $332,104 NSF award for the project: "A Web Infrastructure for Research and Experimentation in User Interactive Event Driven Testing."



link to Nebraska Engineering site Link to UNLs site twitter feed facebook link for Nebraska Engineering hot link: