Nebraska Engineering Fall, 2005
Main Menu
From the Dean Front and Center
After HoursBack Page
Send Us News


Front and Center
Kudos N Kudos Ribbon

Kevin Houser, architectural engineering, and Xin Guo (Ph.D. student, AE) received the 2005 Leon Gaster Award for their paper, “A Review of Colour Rendering Indices and their Application to Commercial Light Sources.” The award is given once annually by the Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers, for the best application paper published in the journal Lighting Research and Technology.

Lily Wang, architectural engineering, was selected the 2005 R. Bruce Lindsay Award recipient from the Acoustical Society of America. This prestigious award is given to a person under the age of 35 within the society. Wang received the award in May at the annual meeting in Vancouver, BC. More information about this award may be found at

Dean Sicking recently received the Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame 2004 Vision Award. The award was sponsored by REMAX and was given for Sicking’s leadership, direction and supervision of the research project that lead to the development of the SAFER barrier.

Kevin Cole’s Web site, Green’s Functions Library passed a milestone: it is listed among the top five when searching Google for “green’s functions” (a generic math term). In March his site received more than 500 hits from all over the world. Cole is an associate professor in mechanical engineering.

Bruce Fischer, construction management, and Stuart Bernstein, construction systems, received Associated Schools of Construction National Teaching Awards. The awards are given annually to faculty members of a four-year ASC member school and recognize contributions to construction education, excellence in teaching and dedication to the construction profession.

Eugene Wright, construction management, retired after 33 years of service and dedication to construction education at the university.

Tim Wentz, construction management, received a National Educator of the Year Award from the Mechanical Contractors Association of America. Wentz was nominated by a construction management student and was chosen by the MCAA’s education committee.

William Velander, chair of chemical engineering, received the Resident Research Prize from the Society of Vascular Surgery for his paper, “Construction and Characterization of an FGF-1 Mutant-Collagen Binding Domain Chimera That Binds Collagen and Stimulates Endothelial Cell Proliferation and Chemotaxis.”

Kevin Houser, Dale Tiller and Xin Hu, architectural engineering, received the 2005-06 Taylor Technical Talent Award from the Illuminating Engineering Society of North America (IESNA) for their paper, “Tuning the Fluorescent Spectrum for the Trichromatic Visual Response: A Pilot Study.” The award recognizes outstanding papers published in LEUKOS, the Journal of the Illuminating Engineering Society. IESNA is the recognized technical authority on illumination and for more than 90 years has sought to communicate information on all aspects of good lighting practice to its members, the lighting community and consumers, through a variety of programs, publications and services. The award will be presented at the Centennial Conference of IESNA in New York in January.

Peter Revesz, computer science and engineering, received the prestigious “Humboldt Research Fellowship.” He will visit the Max Planck Institute for Computer Science in Saarbrucken, Germany, which is among the top institutes for computer science research in Europe. The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation is a nonprofit foundation established by the Federal Republic of Germany for the promotion of international research cooperation.

Steve Reichenbach, computer engineering, was recognized as “Technology Professor of the Year” by the Applied Information Management (AIM) Institute. The award is presented to a postsecondary educator who has risen to the top of the profession to become an outstanding technology educator/administrator, a dynamic colleague and a caring mentor to students.

Bruce Dvorak, civil engineering, was appointed chair of the Small Systems Research Committee by the trustees of the Water Science & Research Division. His begins immediately and ends June 2008, at the conclusion of the AWWA annual conference.