Nebraska Engineering Fall, 2005
Main Menu
From the Dean Front and Center
After HoursBack Page
Send Us News


Front and Center
Student Kudos

Justice Appiah, a Ph.D. student in civil engineering and research assistant with the Mid-America Transportation ccCenter, received the 2004 Council of University Transportation Centers’ Charley V. Wootan Award for Outstanding Master’s Thesis in Transportation Policy and Planning. His thesis, “An Examination of Factors Affecting High Occupancy/ Toll Lane Demand,” was sponsored by the Texas Transportation Institute and the Texas A&M University System. Appiah’s research focuses on intelligent transportation systems and micro simulation modeling.

Dr. Andrzej S. NowakJustice Appiah

Linna Zhang and Roger Svoboda from the Department of Roads
Linna Zhang and Roger Svoboda from the Department of Roads
Linna Zhang, a master’s student in civil engineering and a research assistant with MATC, was one of two national winners in the ITS America 2005 student essay competition, sponsored by PBS&J to encourage student interest and future participation in the development of intelligent transportation systems (ITS) and solutions. Zhang’s essay explored various technologies in use for the enforcement process for traffic, parking and toll collection. Her research focuses on intelligent transportation systems and freeway vehicle detection sensor study. Brent Protzman, a Ph.D. student in architectural engineering, received an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship that provides an annual stipend of $30,000 plus a $10,500 cost of education allowance. The award is renewable for up to three years. The research component of his proposal is titled “Transformation of Primaries and Color Matching Functions.”

The University Nebraska–Lincoln RAB Student Branch recently received the 2004 Membership Growth Award from the IEEE Regional Activities Board for its outstanding leadership and results in membership development activities for the IEEE Nebraska Section, Region 4. Lance Perez, electrical engineering, is the student branch counselor.

Department of Construction Management’s student chapter of Mechanical Contractors Association of America (MCAA) received a $3,000 “Chapter of Excellence” grant, which it also received last year. Half of the grant is to be used for scholarships. The scholarships were awarded to Brandon Limoges and Ben Johnson, both officers of the chapter.