Skip Navigation


SWE earns Chancellor's award

By Carole Wilbeck

TEAMS 09 Winners Left to right: Marilena Carvalho, outgoing SWE adviser; Chancellor Harvey Perlman; Ericka Amborn, SWE student chapter president; and SWE members Dana Tabor, Sydney Schaaf, and Cassie Wehling.

The UNL student chapter of the Society of Women Engineers won a 2009 Chancellor's Award for Contributions to Women. Chapter president Ericka Amborn, a senior from Rapid City, S.D. who majors in mechanical engineering, accepted the award with SWE members at a March 10 reception during UNL Women's Week.

The Chancellor's Outstanding Contribution to Women Awards recognize outstanding faculty, staff and student efforts to create a climate that encourages women to succeed at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. The award recipients demonstrate a sustained and tangible impact on the campus community.

SWE was cited for its annual Women Interested In Engineering Day, which engages prospective students in activities on-campus with faculty and alumni. Dean David Allen's nomination support letter noted that SWE helps make the UNL College of Engineering, on both Lincoln and Omaha campuses, "more welcoming for our prospective and current students" and creates valuable opportunities that greatly add to their skills and to the Nebraska Engineering experience.

"I want to thank our SWE members who help attract and retain female students at the UNL College of Engineering," Allen concluded. "Their efforts to reach out, build community and pursue high standards are both excellent and exemplary."

Bookmark and Share RSS feed