Skip Navigation


Engineers earn 2009 Folsom graduate awards

On February 4, the UNL Office of Graduate Studies announced its annual Folsom Distinguished Master's Thesis and Doctoral Awards. Through a generous gift from the family of Lowe R. and Mavis M. Folsom to the University of Nebraska Foundation, these honors recognize the outstanding research and creative accomplishments of UNL graduate students.

Nebraska Engineering award-winners at this event included:

Miller and Nelson
David Miller receives the Folsom Distinguished Doctoral Dissertation Award from his mentor and nominator, Carl Nelson, associate professor of mechanical engineering.

Folsom Distinguished Doctoral Dissertation Award

David Miller, Biomedical Engineering

Miller and Nelson
Sebastian Elbaum looks on as Steve Goddard, professor and chair of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, congratulates him for earning the Dean's Award for Excellence in Graduate Education.

Dean's Award for Excellence in Graduate Education

Sebastian Elbaum, Associate Professor, Computer Science & Engineering

Folsom Distinguished Doctoral Dissertation Award - Honorable Mention

Pavankumar Meadati, Construction Engineering

Folsom Distinguished Masters Thesis Award - Honorable Mention

Chanat Chokejaroenrat , Environmental Engineering
Scarlett Herring, Industrial Management & Systems Engineering
Amy Lehman, Mechanical Engineering

Outstanding Graduate Research Assistant Award - Honorable Mention

Elham Forouzesh, Materials Engineering
Kromel Hanna, Civil Engineering
Anwar Mamat Niwaer Ai, Computer Science & Engineering
Wei Wang, Computer & Electronics Engineering
Marta Wolinska, Civil Engineering
Hang Yue, Civil Engineering

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award - Honorable Mention

Roberto Soares, Engineering Mechanics
Xinwang Zhang, Electrical Engineering

Bookmark and Share RSS feed